top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBahamian Borderline

Intense Emotions

If I've told you once, I've told you twice, people with BPD experience emotions intensely. We can experience the same emotions as anyone else but on a very hyped up scale. Hearing a story from a borderline can sound so very exaggerated but the truth is that's probably exactly how they experienced it - with all the dramatics involved. This blog was written because a follower asked how emotions affect me knowing full well that their emotions can be high depending upon the situation.

The answer to that question is that the emotions can get out of control. Depending on the type of borderline you're dealing with it can become pretty explosive. The reason most borderlines get diagnosed and misdiagnosed is because they tend to show up with comorbid disorders. They usually have a substance abuse disorder or eating disorder or mood disorder that accompanies their BPD. Those comorbid disorders are what determine what happens with those emotions. For instance, a borderline with substance abuse and is angry external gets into constant bar fights, relationship fights, and just fights in general. For someone with a mood disorder it may turn into anxiety attacks and depression and suicidal thoughts and actions.

For me, as a quiet borderline, I have an anger that's internal and usually builds up. There was a time that I went to a place of business and I parked in an unmarked spot. When I stopped and turned off my car, the man clapped at me to get my attention. I dropped everything in mind and went at him but with grace to tell him it was rude. But then his response was even worse. I went home and punched a hole in the wall. I was so angry I couldn't contain it. The fact that I approached the security down to thinking about the exchange and punching a hole in the wall. Everything about it was unlike me but was indicative of when an emotion is too intense for me to handle. I was angry for days. Literal. Days. The point here is just that the reaction can be different depending on the type of borderline you're dealing with and the comorbid disorders attached.

I can't give any specific advice but I can say to watch out for the signs and symptoms. If that person has a comorbid disorder it will likely come out in that way. There's also a possibility that it comes out in different ways because BPD looks different on everyone.

Please leave any questions you may have in the comments, I'll be happy to answer them


Love,

Dat Bahamian Borderline


IG: bahamian_

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page