top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBahamian Borderline

Mental illness: The invisible disability

I might be spelling my age here but who remembers the show Hercules? The on starring Kevin Sorbo? In that show he looked like a normal human being. Even having normal human urges and needs and relationships. No one ever knows he's a demigod until they hear his name or are told plainly who he is. Mental illness is like that.

There's this big significant thing about you that no one knows or acknowledges unless you tell them. Even then, if they choose to ignore it they can despite the fact that it has the potential to affect then and definitely has a huge impact on you. This is what I call the "Herculean Tax." You get treated like someone who's neurotypical (normal) and thus pay the same social taxes as they do. Persons expect you to behave a certain way, think the same as them and everything that comes along with being "normal." You must pay your dues to society. Until they find out that you have a significant issue that impedes you from acting the way they expect you to.

I really hate to have to acknowledge that I'm limited in my capacity. I'm not able to take on as much stress as I used to, handle anger like normal, handle emotions like regular either. When I see others being themselves in these situations it brings an awareness to me that im not able to do the same. It makes me feel less than human. But I have to constantly remember that I'm limited and that's okay. It's just a way to describe my unique relationship with reality. I have to put myself in situations that enhance my strengths and works best with my weaknesses.

Please remember that your mentally ill friend is not the same and cannot pay the same dues to you and society as your other friends. Be lenient when they miss a service or can't make an event or just feel a bit overwhelmed by the day before they even get started.


Love,

Dat Bahamian Borderline


Follow me on Instagram @bahamian_borderline

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page