top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBahamian Borderline

Depression and motivation

Anhedonia. I bet that's a word you're not familiar with. It means to not get joy from the things that formerly made you happy. When I experience anhedonia I can't listen to music because it sounds like noise, I can't exercise because I can't even manage to get out of bed nor can I open my door or windows because I've suddenly turned into a vampire. Depression saps the life and joy out of you and makes it so that the only logical course of action is to lay in bed all day ruminating.

Writing these blogs, for me, is very cathartic and therapeutic in ways beyond my understanding. However, the lack of motivation sometimes really kills my drive to do anything including write. I love to sing, I was even part of several choirs and yet when anhedonia kicks in even music isn't enjoyable to me.

In these times less judgment and pushing goes a long way. We need a safe space to express our low mood and motivation. We need help carrying out tasks and maybe some help getting us to do the things we need to do. For instance a ride and company to the laundromat, an exercise buddy and some help preparing dinner.

Motivation is difficult for everyone but it's twice as hard when you're depressed.


Love,

Dat Bahamian Borderline


Follow me on Instagram @bahamian_borderline

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page