top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBahamian Borderline

Help Wanted

Would you believe me if i told you that borderlines don't keep jobs well but tend to be very good advocates? Somehow keeping a stable job can be very difficult thing to do for a borderline because of how bored they can get, depressed, angry and unstable they can be. There was one period in my life where my doctors told me that I shouldn't be working because I was too depressed.

As much as that hurt me, I knew I needed the time off because I could barely do anything but cry. The right mix of medication and some self care helped fix me up. However, the set of borderlines that are able to keep a job for years are the quiet borderlines. Of which I am one but have failed. Quiet borderlines are also called "vulnerable" or "high-functioning" borderlines. Believe me I am high functioning compared to some BPD people I know that aren't quiet. There's something about us that makes us take on the blame and push out more work rather than put company blame where it out to be and just act our wage. For me, pushing out work is what I do but as soon as I realize that I'm being taken advantage of, I get to the point where it's difficult to come into work, takes me longer to get the work done and I get flustered more easily.

The boredom speaks for itself. There's no use for us being at a job that doesn't challenge us. If we are not being stimulated in any way it will kill our morale.

I don't have too much to say on this topic because I'm still working through it. I don't think self employment is the answer for me but it may be for some. What I do know is that keeping a job with BPD is hard and it's harder if you're not a quiet borderline. So to those with BPD be patient with yourself. And those without it...be patient with us.


Love,

Dat Bahamian Borderline


IG: bahamian_borderline


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page